Bringing The World Home To You

© 2024 WUNC North Carolina Public Radio
120 Friday Center Dr
Chapel Hill, NC 27517
919.445.9150 | 800.962.9862
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Dvorak and Copland from Violinist Colin Jacobsen

Young Artist in Residence Colin Jacobsen chose an all-American program for this third day of his residency. He starts with Gerswhin's Prelude #2, and follows that up with Dvorak's Sonatina for Violin and Piano. Dvorak may have been Czech, but this Sonatina was American-born. Dvorak wrote it in New York City in 1893. Marija Stroke is the pianist. Then Jacobsen and Stroke turn their attention to a seldom-performed sonata by Aaron Copland: the Sonata for Violin.

Copyright 2022 NPR. To see more, visit

More Stories