Bringing The World Home To You

© 2021 WUNC North Carolina Public Radio
120 Friday Center Dr
Chapel Hill, NC 27517
919.445.9150 | 800.962.9862
91.5 Chapel Hill 88.9 Manteo 90.9 Rocky Mount 91.1 Welcome 91.9 Fayetteville 90.5 Buxton
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00
0:00
Available On Air Stations
Politics

New Hurdle for Teen Drivers

Teenagers in North Carolina now have to keep driving logs in order to get their drivers license.

Leoneda Inge:  The new provision for young drivers went into effect January first. The General Assembly passed the new law because it wanted teenagers to get more behind-the-wheel experience before getting a license.  DMV spokeswoman Marge Howell says teenage drivers will need to fill out a driving log proving they put-in 60 hours of driving practice before getting a Level One Limited Learner’s permit.  This includes 10 hours of driving at night. Howell says it’s more challenging to drive these days.

Marge Howell:  Things that you need to know to drive in this day and age are just more numerous and more important in keeping you safe behind the wheel.
A 2009 report from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration ranks North Carolina number five nationally in the number of people killed in crashes involving teen drivers.

More Stories