Bringing The World Home To You

© 2022 WUNC North Carolina Public Radio
120 Friday Center Dr
Chapel Hill, NC 27517
919.445.9150 | 800.962.9862
91.5 Chapel Hill 88.9 Manteo 90.9 Rocky Mount 91.1 Welcome 91.9 Fayetteville 90.5 Buxton 94.1 Lumberton 99.9 Southern Pines
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
NPR Blogs

Oscar Nominees For Best Picture Include 'Captain Phillips,' 'Gravity'

Tom Hanks in <em>Captain Phillips</em>.
Hopper Stone, SMPSP
Tom Hanks in <em>Captain Phillips</em>.

Let the arguments begin over who and which film should have been nominated but weren't.

This year's nominees for Oscars from the were just announced and they include:

Best Picture

-- American Hustle

-- Captain Phillips

-- Dallas Buyers Club

-- Gravity

-- Her

-- Nebraska

-- Philomena

-- 12 Years a Slave

-- The Wolf of Wall Street

The full list of nominees is here. We'll add more in a moment.

Our friend Linda Holmes on the Monkey See blog will have more about the nominations as the day continues.

Update at 11:20 a.m. ET: Here's a direct link to Linda's take on the nominations.

Update at 8:50 a.m. ET. More Nominations.

Best Actor in a leading role:

-- Christian Bale,American Hustle

-- Bruce Dern,Nebraska

-- Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf of Wall Street

-- Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave

-- Matthew McConaughey,Dallas Buyers Club

Best Actress in a leading role:

-- Amy Adams, American Hustle

-- Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine

-- Sandra Bullock, Gravity

-- Judy Dench, Philomena

-- Meryl Streep, August: Osage County

Best Actor in a supporting role:

-- Barkhad Abdi, Captain Phillips

-- Bradley Cooper, American Hustle

-- Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave

-- Jonah Hill, The Wolf of Wall Street

-- Jared Leto,Dallas Buyers Club

Best Actress in a supporting role

-- Sally Hawkins, Blue Jasmine

-- Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle

-- Lupita Nyong'o, 12 Years a Slave

-- Julia Roberts,August: Osage County

-- June Squibb, Nebraska

The Oscar winners will be revealed on March 2. Ellen DeGeneres is the show's host this year. It will be broadcast by ABC-TV.

Copyright 2021 NPR. To see more, visit

More Stories