NCAA Awards Championship Bids To NC Cities

Apr 18, 2017

The NCAA has awarded Division I championships to Greensboro, Winston-Salem, Raleigh and Cary over the next four years.

Greensboro will host women's basketball tournament games in 2019, and men's tournament games in 2020.  Raleigh was also awarded men's games in 2021.

Meanwhile, Cary's WakeMed Soccer Park is getting the men's and women's College Cups back.  The town will alternate between the two for the next four years straight.

Winston-Salem is getting the women's field hockey championship in 2019.

Charlotte also put in several bids to host events, but was not selected for any. The city passed the non-discrimination ordinance that prompted state lawmakers to pass HB2 last year.

The NCAA said it was reluctant to consider North Carolina again. HB2 is off the books, but critics say the replacement law still allows the state to discriminate against the LGBT community.