Bringing The World Home To You

© 2024 WUNC North Carolina Public Radio
120 Friday Center Dr
Chapel Hill, NC 27517
919.445.9150 | 800.962.9862
91.5 Chapel Hill 88.9 Manteo 90.9 Rocky Mount 91.1 Welcome 91.9 Fayetteville 90.5 Buxton 94.1 Lumberton 99.9 Southern Pines 89.9 Chadbourn
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

NC Rep. Hudson named to lead House fundraising arm

NC Legislative Building
Dave DeWitt
N.C. Legislature Building

Veteran U.S. Rep. Richard Hudson of North Carolina was elected Tuesday by fellow House Republicans as leader of their campaign fundraising arm to help get GOP candidates elected to the chamber.

Hudson was unopposed in running to become the next National Republican Congressional Committee chairman, picked by new and returning colleagues meeting in Washington. He succeeds Rep. Tom Emmer, R-Minn., who on Tuesday was elected the House GOP caucus whip.

Hudson joined the House in 2013 and won reelection last week to the 9th Congressional District seat.

With Republicans on the cusp of majority control of the House, Hudson would become fourth in line to the speakership should current Republican Leader Kevin McCarthy be elected speaker in January.

“Working together with our leadership team and entire conference, I am confident we can build on our successes and learn from missed opportunities to expand our majority in 2024,” Hudson said in a news release.

Hudson's political career has included serving as an aide to former U.S. Reps. Robin Hayes and Virginia Foxx. He also managed Pat McCrory's unsuccessful gubernatorial campaign in 2008.

The 9th District covers all or portions of nine central and Sandhills counties, including Fort Bragg.

The Associated Press is one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent newsgathering, supplying a steady stream of news to its members, international subscribers and commercial customers. AP is neither privately owned nor government-funded; instead, it's a not-for-profit news cooperative owned by its American newspaper and broadcast members.
More Stories