Bringing The World Home To You

© 2021 WUNC North Carolina Public Radio
120 Friday Center Dr
Chapel Hill, NC 27517
919.445.9150 | 800.962.9862
91.5 Chapel Hill 88.9 Manteo 90.9 Rocky Mount 91.1 Welcome 91.9 Fayetteville 90.5 Buxton
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00
0:00
Available On Air Stations
Law

Fiscal Year In N.C. Begins With 30 New Laws, Higher DMV Fees

Specialty license plates are becoming more common in North Carolina.
N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles
/
N.C. Department of Transportation

Be prepared to pay more in North Carolina for your driver’s license, your vehicle registration or copy of your driving record.

As mandated by state law, the Division of Motor Vehicles is required to adjust fees and rates every four years, based on the percentage change in the annual Consumer Price Index during the past four years.

According to a news release, about 90 license and registration-related fees will go up starting Wednesday at about an 8% increase.

A normal annual vehicle registration will increase from $36 to $38.75, while fees for five or eight-year driver’s license renewal fees will work out to $5.50 per year, up from $5.

More than 30 new laws will also take effect Wednesday, when state government’s fiscal year begins.

The laws include 2.5% salary increases for most state employees and state law enforcement officers. Teachers will get their usual experienced-based raises, as well as $350 bonuses before October.

Other new laws fund targeted government building and expansion projects.

More Stories