Bringing The World Home To You

© 2024 WUNC North Carolina Public Radio
120 Friday Center Dr
Chapel Hill, NC 27517
919.445.9150 | 800.962.9862
91.5 Chapel Hill 88.9 Manteo 90.9 Rocky Mount 91.1 Welcome 91.9 Fayetteville 90.5 Buxton 94.1 Lumberton 99.9 Southern Pines 89.9 Chadbourn
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Virginia Governor To Attend McCrory's Inauguration

North Carolina's new Republican governor will have a fellow G-O-P chief executive at his public swearing in ceremony tomorrow.
Virginia governor Bob McDonnell will travel across the border to watch Pat McCrory and others take oaths of office at a Saturday morning public ceremony. McDonnell's spokesman confirmed today the governor will be in Raleigh for the inaugural event. As McCrory sought the office, McDonnell offered support as chairman of the Republican Governors Association. That organization dumped millions of dollars into backing McCrory's candidacy. Its efforts helped make North Carolina the only state where a Republican flipped the office from Democratic control. McCrory is taking the oath of office for a second time. He officially became governor in an invitation-only ceremony last weekend

Gurnal Scott joined North Carolina Public Radio in March 2012 after several stops in radio and television. After graduating from the College of Charleston in his South Carolina hometown, he began his career in radio there. He started as a sports reporter at News/Talk Radio WTMA and won five Sportscaster of the Year awards. In 1997, Gurnal moved on to television as general assignment reporter and weekend anchor for WCSC-TV in Charleston. He anchored the market's top-rated weekend newscasts until leaving Charleston for Memphis, TN in 2002. Gurnal worked at WPTY-TV for two years before returning to his roots in radio. He joined the staff of Memphis' NewsRadio 600 WREC in 2004 eventually rising to News Director. In 2006, Raleigh news radio station WPTF came calling and he became the station's chief correspondent. Gurnal’s reporting has been honored by the South Carolina Broadcasters Association, the North Carolina Associated Press, and the Radio Television Digital News Association of the Carolinas.
Related Stories
More Stories