Bringing The World Home To You

© 2022 WUNC North Carolina Public Radio
120 Friday Center Dr
Chapel Hill, NC 27517
919.445.9150 | 800.962.9862
91.5 Chapel Hill 88.9 Manteo 90.9 Rocky Mount 91.1 Welcome 91.9 Fayetteville 90.5 Buxton 94.1 Lumberton 99.9 Southern Pines
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

BofA's Moynihan Highest Paid CEO in NC

Brian Moynihan is the CEO of Bank of America, based in Charlotte
David Boraks

With a pay package of $21.4 million, Bank of America's Brian T. Moynihan ranks as the highest paid chief executive of a public company in North Carolina.

In a ranking of the highest paid CEOs in every state, North Carolina ranks No. 19, though Moynihan himself isn't the 19th highest paid CEO. This analysis looks only at the top pay for every state; it was completed by the Associated Press and Equilar, an executive data firm. The survey considered only publicly traded companies with more than $1 billion in revenue that filed their proxy statements with federal regulators between Jan. 1 and April 30.

Not every state had a publicly traded company headquartered there that was large enough to be included. The survey includes only CEOs who have been in place for at least two years, but it does not limit the survey to companies in the S&P 500, as the AP's general compensation study does.

To calculate CEO pay, Equilar adds salary, bonus, stock awards, stock option awards, deferred compensation and other components that include benefits and perks. For some companies, big raises can occur when CEOs get a stock grant in one year as part of a multi-year grant.

The typical CEO in the Standard & Poor's 500 index made $11.7 million last year.

Here's a list sorted alphabetically by state:

  • Alabama: O. B. Grayson Hall Jr., Regions Financial, $9.4 million (Hall is stepping down in July.)
  • Arkansas: C. Douglas McMillon, Walmart, $22.8 million
  • Arizona: Richard C. Adkerson, Freeport-McMoRan, $16.2 million
  • California: Michael Rapino , Live Nation Entertainment, $70.6 million
  • Colorado: Gregory B. Maffei, Liberty Media & Qurate Retail Group, $67.6 million
  • Connecticut: Mark T. Bertolini, Aetna, $18.7 million
  • Washington, D.C.: Thomas P. Joyce, Danaher, $14.8 million
  • Delaware: Hervé Hoppenot, Incyte, $16.1 million
  • Florida: Brian D. Jellison, Roper Technologies, $29.2 million
  • Georgia: Frank J. Bisignano, First Data, $102.2 million
  • Hawaii: Constance H. Lau, Hawaiian Electric Industries, $5.4 million
  • Iowa: Daniel J. Houston, Principal Financial Group, $9.4 million
  • Idaho: Thomas K. Corrick , Boise Cascade , $4.1 million
  • Illinois: Debra A. Cafaro, Ventas, $25.3 million
  • Indiana: N. Thomas Linebarger, Cummins, $13.2 million
  • Kansas: Michael J. Brown, Euronet Worldwide, $3.9 million
  • Kentucky: Scott L. Thompson, Tempur Sealy International, $18 million
  • Louisiana: Glen F. Post III, CenturyLink, $14.3 million (Post retired at the company's annual meeting, which was on Wednesday.)
  • Massachusetts: Stephen Kaufer, TripAdvisor, $43.2 million
  • Maryland: David M. Zaslav, Discovery Communications, $42.2 million
  • Maine: Melissa D. Smith, WEX, $10.8 million
  • Michigan: Mary T. Barra, General Motors, $21.9 million
  • Minnesota: James M. Cracchiolo, Ameriprise Financial, $22.4 million
  • Missouri: Michael F. Neidorff, Centene, $25.3 million
  • Mississippi: Joe F. Sanderson Jr., Sanderson Farms, $6.6 million
  • North Carolina: Brian T. Moynihan, Bank of America, $21.4 million
  • North Dakota: David L. Goodin, MDU Resources Group, $3.7 million
  • Nebraska: Lance M. Fritz, Union Pacific, $11.3 million
  • New Hampshire: Timothy McGrath, PC Connection, $1.6 million
  • New Jersey: Alex Gorsky, Johnson & Johnson, $23 million
  • New Mexico: Patricia K. Collawn, PNM Resources, $4.4 million
  • Nevada: Stephen A. Wynn, Wynn Resorts, $34.5 million (Wynn left the CEO position in February.)
  • New York: Leslie Moonves, CBS, $68.4 million
  • Ohio: W. Nicholas Howley, TransDigm Group, $61 million
  • Oklahoma: Robert D. Lawler, Chesapeake Energy, $14.9 million
  • Oregon: Bryan B. DeBoer, Lithia Motors, $5.9 million
  • Pennsylvania: Brian L. Roberts, Comcast, $32.5 million
  • Rhode Island: Scott C. Donnelly, Textron, $13.1 million
  • South Carolina: John D. Williams, Domtar, $7 million
  • South Dakota: David R. Emery, Black Hills, $3.4 million
  • Tennessee: Mark J. Costa, Eastman Chemical, $14 million
  • Texas: Randall L. Stephenson, AT&T, $25.6 million
  • Utah: Harris H. Simmons, Zions, $3.2 million
  • Virginia: Phebe N. Novakovic, General Dynamics, $21.2 million
  • Washington: John J. Legere, T-Mobile US, $23.6 million
  • Wisconsin: Jonas Prising, ManpowerGroup Inc., $12 million
The Associated Press is one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent newsgathering, supplying a steady stream of news to its members, international subscribers and commercial customers. AP is neither privately owned nor government-funded; instead, it's a not-for-profit news cooperative owned by its American newspaper and broadcast members.
More Stories