Bringing The World Home To You

© 2024 WUNC North Carolina Public Radio
120 Friday Center Dr
Chapel Hill, NC 27517
919.445.9150 | 800.962.9862
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Explosions In The Sky In Concert

Explosions in the Sky is a quartet from Austin, TX making what they call "cathartic mini-symphonies." Known for wildly intense live performances, their songs are sprawling, epic pieces that build and evolve, often over a span of ten or more minutes a track. Though decidedly non-commercial, Explosions in the Sky has built a large and loyal following for layering beautifully orchestrated melodies against passionate sonic chaos.

Explosions in the Sky features guitarists Munaf Rayani and Mark Smith, Michael James on bass and guitar and drummer Chris Hrasky. Their debut release was 2000's How Strange, Innocence. It was followed by Those Who Tell the Truth Shall Die, Those Who Tell the Truth Shall Live Forever in 2001, and The Earth is Not a Cold Dead Place in 2003. In 2004 the band scored the film Friday Night Lights. They've just released their fourth album, All Of A Sudden I Miss Everyone on the Temporary Residence label.

The live webcast from Washington, D.C. will begin with two opening performances, one by Eluvium and the other by The Paper Chase.

Eluvium is the music of Matthew Cooper, a native of Louisville, KY now living in Portland, OR. Cooper is a self-produced electronic artist who crafts elegant, hypnotic soundscapes using densely layered guitars and pianos. Eluvium's latest CD, Copia introduces more strings, brass and woodwinds than previous works, relying less on the rock instrumentation of earlier albums. Copia is a beautifully orchestrated collection of cinematic pieces, built more on inspired melodies than electronic ambience.

The Paper Chase is a Dallas, TX trio known for experimental, noise pop and rock music. Their songs are often brash and menacing. The opening cut to their latest CD Now You Are One of Us features a frantic phone call from someone who sounds like they're about to die, with the title "It's Out There And It's Gonna Get You." Other tracks include "We Know Where You Sleep" and "Wait Until I Get My Hands On You."

After releasing Now You Are One of Us in the U.S., The Paper Chase made an appeal to fans on its Web site saying, "Please, not in the face. It's just an album."

Copyright 2022 NPR. To see more, visit

More Stories