Greensboro Getting a New Mayor

Nov 9, 2011

Voters in Greensboro have elected a new mayor.

Robbie Perkins has unseated incumbent Bill Knight. The long-time city councilman received more than 56 percent of the vote on Tuesday. Perkins ends Knight's run as mayor after just one term and represents one of a few changes to the local government. The next city council will have three new faces and a different political lean. Former Mayor Yvonne Johnson won an at-large seat as did Marikay Abuzuaiter. She had come up short in two previous elections. In the District 4 contest Nancy Hoffman registered a close victory against incumbent Mary Rakestraw. Five other incumbents - T. Dianne Bellamy-Small, Jim Kee, Zach Methaney, Trudy Wade and Nancy Vaughn - defended their seats. The three new council members with give the group a democratic majority.